

# A Record of the Members as at May 2014



# **TABLE TENNIS NEW ZEALAND**

http://www.tabletennis.org.nz

## From the Executive Director

The Table Tennis New Zealand Hall of Fame is now fifteen years old, with 2014 providing the fourth induction of outstanding contributors to our game, after 1999, 2005 and 2009.

How fitting it is that more new inductees are celebrated during the biggest event TTNZ has ever undertaken, the Stag World Veteran Championships. A special dinner celebrates their induction on the rest day of this marvelous



event, allowing as many people as possible to share in this prestigious occasion, to make re-acquaintances, and to relive nostalgic moments.

The fact that New Zealand is hosting such a major competition is due in many ways to the members of our Hall of Fame. They set the standards and forged the connections that have earned New Zealand a respected place in global table tennis.

Some new and other existing Inductees are involved in supporting and helping Table Tennis New Zealand to conduct the Veterans championships.

Since being inducted in 2005 James Morris has continued to be heavily involved in our sport, being the latest convener of the Hall of Fame Induction Panel and having significant roles in The World Veteran Championships, Table Tennis New Zealand, the ITTF and the Oceania Federation. Other Inductees continue to support table tennis at various levels.

I hope that a number of our overseas visitors take the opportunity to share this evening and catch up with 'Kiwi' opponents and friends. Our special guests include the Executive of Swaythling Club International, organisers of WVC, and Stag International the major sponsors of both the event and Table Tennis New Zealand.

### John Lea

### Published by TABLE TENNIS New Zealand Inc.

Phone (09) 415 9681 Fax (09) 415 0689 PO Box 303053 North Shore Auckland 0751 New Zealand E-mail - ttnz@tabletennis.org.nz http://www.tabletennis.org.nz

Produced by Robin Radford Editing by John Kiley

Information to compile this publication has been derived from the completed data for the inductees, the archives of TTNZ, "50 Years Across the table" by Ken Wilkinson, Otago TTA's 50th year booklet 1982, TT INFO magazine, contributions by Ron Garrett and Alan Tomlinson and the TTNZ Titleholder lists. In some cases achievements after the criteria date have been included to complete the CV of the inductee to the issue of this record. Every effort has been made as regards accuracy. If any information is not correct advice of it would be welcome.



The **Table Tennis Hall of Fame** was inaugurated in 1999.

The following are the members as at May 2014:

Russell Algie	1999	Richard Lee	2005
Margaret Cataslis (nee Hoar)	1999	Li Chunli	2014
Murray Dunn	1999	Karen Li	2014
Trevor Flint, OM	2005	Christine Little	2009
Yvonne Fogarty	2005	Ron Menchi	2009
Bryan Foster	2005	James Morris	2005
Ron Garrett	2014	Jan Morris	2009
Barry Griffiths	2009	Robin Radford	2014
Alf Harding	2009	Alan Tomlinson	1999
Bob Jackson	1999	Neti Traill (nee Davis)	1999
Peter Jackson	2009	Ken Wilkinson, BEM	2005
<del></del>			

### **Selection Panels:**

1999: Garry Frew, Ron Menchi, Trevor Flint

2005: Ron Garrett, Alan Tomlinson, Ron Menchi

2009: **Ron Garrett, Alan Tomlinson, Ron Menchi** for the players and **Ron Garrett** and **Alan Tomlinson** for the administrators.

2014: James Morris, Alan Tomlinson, Yvonne Fogarty